Abbeys & Monasteries

Stift Altenburg

Contact & Informations

3591 Altenburg
Abt Placidus Much-Straße 1

+43 2982 3451
+43 2982 34511 3

Email
Website

Pushchair Accessible Wheelchair Accessible Bilingual Cashiers (DE/E) Bistro / Restaurant Souvenirshop / Shop Bicycle Stands / Bicycle Boxes Parking Possibilities Free Entry with the NÖ Card

The rich monastic complex of Altenburg testifies in the middle of Europe to the commitment of the Benedictines for God and the people. The “Baroque Jewel of the Waldviertel“, with its rich fresco decoration by the South Tyrolean painter Paul Troger, receives – through the newly created balcony – an attractive focal point which offers a clear view of the entire Baroque facade. The library, crypt, Sala Terrena and Imperial Staircase can be admired for the first time in their full splendour, and they impressively demonstrate this building’s desire to be Baroque. At the same time the balcony has been acting as a bridge, so to speak, connecting the centuries, because with only a few steps you can dive into the everyday lives of the Benedictine monks of the Middle Ages. 

The Abbey Under The Abbey“, the uncovered medieval abbey under the Baroque buildings, impresses with a scriptorium, chapter house and cloister. Here you have the unique opportunity to see, and directly compare, two abbey complexes that lie directly on top of each other. More medieval rooms have already been excavated and will be adapted for the exhibition in the next few years.

The numerous Monastic Gardens around the monastery grounds – the cloister garden, the creation garden, the pharmacy garden, the “Garden of Silence” and, above all, the “Garden of Religions” – are a witness to today’s questions and tasks that face the monks. The search for justice and peace in the monks’ own hearts remains exciting, and is challenging, in particular when opening up to strangers and people of different opinions and faiths. 

All important rooms are barrier-free accessible. 

  • Baroque Jewel of the Waldviertel
  • The Abbey Under The Abbey
  • Monastic Gardens
  • Regular and Special Exhibitions

Special offers:

  • “In the Middle of the Day”– possibility to take part in the choral prayers in the Collegiate Church
  • Altenburger Boys’ Choir Concerts
  • Strobls Monastery Restaurant (Stiftsrestaurant)
  • Monastery Shop

Open Daily:

1 May – 26 October, 10:00 – 17:00. Admission until 16:00

Admission:

Adult: €12.00
Discount: €10.00
Family Ticket: €21.00
Child (U18): FREE

The three main themes – The Baroque Jewel of the Waldviertel, The Abbey under The Abbey and the Monastic Gardens as well as the current Special Exhibitions – can all be viewed using the same ticket. The showrooms are accessible without booking a tour and a simple map should help you not to lose your orientation!


Guided Tours:

Private Guided Tour: Group (20 people or more). Groups must book in advance!
Duration: approx. 60 minutes
Price: Adult €11.00 (per person); Pupil/Student: €4.50 (per person)

Impressions

Events & Functions

Make sure to check out these top atractions in the area:

09_stiftaltenburg
Stifte & Klöster

Stift Altenburg

Kontakt und Information

3591 Altenburg
Abt Placidus Much-Straße 1

+43 2982 3451
+43 2982 3451 13

Email
Website

Kinderwagengerecht Rollstuhlgerecht zweisprachiges Kassenpersonal (DE/E) Bistro / Restaurant Souvenirshop / Shop Fahrradständer/ -boxen Parkmöglichkeiten Gratis-Besuch mit der Niederösterreich-CARD

Der reiche Klosterkomplex von Altenburg zeugt in der Mitte Europas vom Einsatz der Benediktiner für Gott und die Menschen Das „Barockjuwel des Waldviertels“ mit seinem reichen Freskenschmuck des Südtiroler Malers Paul Troger erhält durch die neu geschaffene Altane einen attraktiven Mittelpunkt, der den Blick auf die gesamte Barockfassade freigibt. Bibliothek, Krypta, Sala Terrena und Kaiserstiege sind so erstmals in ihrer vollen Pracht zu bewundern und belegen eindrucksvoll den Schaffensdrang der barocken Bauäbte. Gleichzeitig bildet die Altane eine Brücke über die Jahrhunderte, denn mit wenigen Schritten tauchen Sie ein in den Lebensraum der Benediktinermönche im Mittelalter.

 

Das „Kloster unter dem Kloster“, die freigelegte mittelalterliche Klosteranlage unter den barocken Gebäuden, beeindruckt mit Skriptorium, Kapitelsaal und Kreuzgang. Hier bietet sich die einmalige Gelegenheit, zwei Klosteranlagen übereinander im direkten Vergleich betrachten zu können. Weitere mittelalterliche Räumlichkeiten wurden bereits ergraben und werden in den nächsten Jahren für den Ausstellungsbetrieb adaptiert.

 

Die zahlreichen Stiftsgärten rund um die Klosteranlage – Kreuzganggarten, Schöpfungsgarten, Apothekergarten, der „Garten der Stille“ und allen voran der „Garten der Religionen“ – zeugen von den heutigen Fragestellungen und Aufgaben der Mönche: der Suche nach Gerechtigkeit und Frieden im eigenen Herzen, die in der Öffnung zum Fremden, zu Andersdenkenden und Andersglaubenden spannend und herausfordernd bleibt.

Alle wichtigen Räumlichkeiten sind barrierefrei erreichbar.

  • Barockjuwel des Waldviertels
  • Kloster unter dem Kloster
  • Stiftsgärten
  • Regelmäßige Sonderausstellungen

 

Spezielle Angebote:

  • „In der Mitte des Tages“ – Möglichkeit zur Teilnahme am Chorgebet in der Stiftskirche
  • Konzerte der Altenburger Sängerknaben
  • Strobls Stiftsrestaurant im Kaiserhof
  • Klosterladen

Geöffnet:

1. Mai bis 26. Oktober täglich von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr (Einlass bis 16:00 Uhr)

Eintrittspreise:

Erwachsene € 12,00

Ermäßigt € 10,00

Familien € 21,00

Kinder und Jugendliche bis 18 Jahre zahlen keinen Eintritt

Die drei Themenschwerpunkte Barockjuwel des WaldviertelsKloster unter dem Kloster und Stiftsgärten sowie die jeweils aktuelle Sonderausstellung sind mit einer gemeinsamen Tageskarte zu besichtigen. Die Schauräume sind ohne Führung zugänglich, ein handlicher Übersichtsplan hilft Ihnen, die Orientierung nicht zu verlieren!

Führungen:

Für Gruppen ab 20 Personen gibt es gegen Voranmeldung persönliche Führungen
Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten
Kosten: Erwachsene € 11,00/Person; Schüler und Studenten € 4,50/Person

Eindrücke

Events und Veranstaltungen

Besuchen Sie auch folgende Top-Ausflugsziele in der Nähe: